Credentialed Community Language (CCL) Testing


The Credentialed Community Language Test, known as the CCL Test, is an assessment of your language abilities at a community level.

NAATI is known for testing and certifying interpreters and translators, and is the standards authority in language testing. Passing the CCL test is verified confirmation of your community language skills, in both English and another language.

As part of certain points-based visa applications made to the Australian Department of Home Affairs, individuals who pass the NAATI Credentialed Community Language Test can claim Credentialed Community Language (CCL) points. These are sometimes referred to as the ‘five bonus points’. The NAATI CCL test is not intended to be a professional credential. If you pass the CCL test, you are not certified to work as an interpreter or a translator.

What’s Covered

This training course reflects the interpreting skills and knowledge required to participate effectively in a situation where simple information is exchanged between two people; an English-speaker and a person speaking the Language Other Than English (known as the LOTE). Our training course reflects real-life situations in Australian society, which topics may include health, legal, community, immigration and settlement, education, social services, finance, housing, business, employment, insurance or consumer affairs.

This training is available in the following languages:

  • Mandarin to/from English
  • Nepali* to/from English
  • Bangla* to/from English

* The availability of these languages is subject to change.

Delivery Schedule (Face to Face Training & Online Training)

Delivery ModeDurationTuition Fees
Face to Face7.5 hours/week for 8 weeks
(Total 40 hours)
Online (Teams)7.5 hours/week for 8 weeks
(Total 36 hours)